John Hicks Trio | Sunshower

Joe Diorio (guitar)
Bob Magnusson (bass)
Jim Plank (drums)

1. My Foolish Heart
2. Melody in C
3. Laura
4. Sunshower
5. Say It / My Funny Valentine
6. Little Princess
7. Strayhorn Medley

As Jim Merod writes in his liner notes, the essential voice of this album is “romance.” Hicks’ treatment and rendering of ballads are beautiful and elegant. He also shows his appreciation for pianists he admires: Bill Evans (“My Foolish Heart”), Sonny Clark (“Melody in C”), Kenny Barron (“Sunshower”) and Billy Strayhorn (“Strayhorn Medley”).